Creole Chicken II

This is not one of my recipes.  I got it from Allrecipe.com.  However, I am posting it here, because miraculously, I’m not allergic to anything in it! WhooHoo!

Creole Chicken II

Allrecipes.com

 

Ingredients:

4 pounds chicken legs (I suggest removing the skin. Could also use thigh, breast, etc.)

¼ cup brown sugar

1 Tablespoon olive oil

4 onions, chopped (I used 2)

2 cloves garlic, minced (I used jarred)

3 green bell peppers, diced (I think I used red or mixed)

8 ounces tomato paste

1 cup raisins

1 Tablespoon curry powder (I might try more next time.)

2 cups chicken stock

1 bay leaf

Salt & pepper to taste

1 Tablespooon fresh parsley

*Serves 6

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Rinse and pat dry the chicken pieces and rub them with the brown sugar. In a large skillet, fry the chicken QUICKLY in hot oil (the sugar must not burn).  When browned, remove to a 10×15 inch baking dish. (I used a 9 x13 casserole dish.)
  3. Saute the onions and garlic in oil until soft.  Add the sweet peppers, tomato paste, raisins, curry powder, chicken stock, bay leaf, salt, black pepper and parsley.  Simmer for about 5 minutes.
  4. Pour the sauce mixture over the chicken, cover and bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes.  Remove cover and bake for another 30 minutes or until tender.

 

Leave a Reply

