Applesauce

Here on our shy half acre, we have two small apple trees. I have no idea what variety they are. Only my son will eat them. They are tart and bitter at the same time, and because we refuse to use any chemicals they are often buggy or wormy as well. However they do make delicious applesauce. Somehow when cooked down with just a touch of orange juice or lemon juice they taste divine. So almost every morning since they’ve been ripe, I’ve been walking out to let loose and feed the chickens while grabbing 3-4 apples and stuffing them into my hoodie. When I get back inside, I make a quick batch of applesauce that my son and I enjoy as part of our breakfast. We often have a little leftover which I put in a jar for those mornings when we are just too short on time to make a fresh batch. I don’t have a food mill, or a big freezer or any canning supplies, so long term storage of apples for pie or storing jars of homemade applesauce just isn’t in the current realm of possibility. We do what we can with what we have, and we enjoy a warm fresh batch of applesauce in the morning. Well, thanks for reading this. I’ve got to go let some chickens out and grab some apples. It’s a beautiful day for fresh applesauce. 
Washed and ready. Pardon the egg. It is NOT included in the applesauce.  
Half of the apples get peeled. Then all the apples get cored and chopped and put in the pot with 1/4 cup water and a capful of orange juice. I’m mildly allergic to lemons which is what the original recipe calls for. I’ve found orange juice works just fine.  
After bringing the pot to a boil, I turn the heat down to medium low and continue simmering with the lid on for 10 minutes. Afterward, they look like this! 
I leave the lid on, take them off the burner and let them cool slightly for roughly 4 minutes.

After that I sprinkle cinnamon all over the top, toss in a teaspoon of sugar (yes the bad stuff) and blend with my stick blender. The end result is hot steaming delicious apple sauce. 

 
Well, I’ve got to go! Pancakes to make, some homeschool work to complete, a party to prepare for and somewhere in there I’m hoping to set up my new vacuum and vacuum the house! But that’s another story.  
God bless!

Leave a Reply

